What if?

 

Kitchen Window

What will happen if that cloud,

shaped like that woman there ,never speaking loud,

decides to just take it -all the pain?…

decides to never lash back on a windowpane?

 

What will happen if that cloud,

shaped like that woman there, well-endowed,

decides to turn into a nest for birds?..

decides to turn into a pup, whose gender is a curse word?

 

What will happen if that cloud,

shaped like that woman there ,head bowed,

decides to forgo all it’s power?…

decides to hold on to it’s laden darkness forever?

 

— end —

Author’s note: Sometimes when I stand over the kitchen sink for the millionth time, I wonder about ,” what will happen if the clouds….”

Other times I wonder:

What will happen if I

decide to not do the dishes?  🙂

The definition of well-endowed in this context is: having a lot of something that people admire or want like intelligence.

This less than 100 word poem  was written in response to a 100 word photo challenge  posted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields each week. PHOTO PROMPT ©  Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Click on the ‘blue frog’  below to read other amazing takes on the same photo prompt:

 

29 responses to “What if?

  1. What will happen indeed?
    Guess we’ll never know.

    Like

  2. Let’s hope the cloud fulfils its function of delivering thunder and lightening and change to the world.
    (A couple of commas in the wrong place – they shouldn’t have a space in front)

    Like

  3. I’m reminded of the song “Both Sides Now” by Joni Mitchell. The world is full of “what ifs” which is the premise of all fiction stories.
    Don’t worry about the dishes. They’ll still be there tomorrow (that’s what I tell my wife) 🙂

    Like

  4. But that’s what I worry about …that they’ll still be there tomorrow 🙂

    It’s interesting the places the “what ifs” can take us.

    Like

  5. i’d say dream on. it relieves the monotony while doing the dishes. 🙂

    Like

  6. Really nice take. What if indeed.

    Like

  7. Dear Ansumani,

    A sweet take on the prompt and cloud watching. As for the dishes…I have a sink full waiting for me as I write. I know what will happen. They’ll be waiting for me this afternoon. 😉

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  8. It’s nice sometimes to watch the clouds. Quite relaxing.

    Like

  9. C – “speaking loud” is incorrect, you can have loud speech but when it modifies the verb, loudly is correct.
    Clouds are fascinating in their impermanence aren’t they?
    Tracey

    Like

  10. C – apart from the commas being in the wrong position I like the repetions… I think imagine what could be in the clouds can be a perfect pursuit.

    Like

  11. Nice one! Lovely verse. I like doing dishes because it puts me into kind of a zen state. But, only for that reason!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I like how you use the clouds to represent womanhood.

    Like

  13. That was certainly a different take on the prompt. Well thought out.

    Like

  14. Those are some of the great, “What if’s”, that lead to writing stories. Well done, Ansumani. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Like

Leave a Reply

